Montana Actually by Fiona Lowe: Review

January 12, 2015 Reviews 0 ★★★★★

I was provided with an advance reader copy by NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. Any and all opinions expressed in this review are mine alone. I received no financial incentives to review this book.

Montana Actually by Fiona Lowe: ReviewMontana Actually by Fiona Lowe
five-stars
Series: Medicine River #1
Published by Berkley on January 6, 2015
Genres: Contemporary Romance, Medical Romance
Pages: 320
Format: eARC
Source: NetGalley
AmazonGoogle PlayGoodreads
A big city doctor in a small-town Montana practice... A former nurse who has sworn off doctors forever... The scene is set for passions to ignite in Big Sky Country. For readers of Robyn Carr and Sherryl Woods.

City doctor Josh Stanton and his sports car don't suit the country but with his medical school debt about to bury him, Josh has to make the best of a bad situation. Adjusting to his new job and life in the middle of nowhere isn't easy, but at least the views of the mountains --and one distractingly attractive local--are stunning...

After eight years away, Katrina McCade is back in Bear Paw for a break from her life, bad choices--and men. But when a broad-shouldered stranger bursts into town, she finds herself unexpectedly saddled with the town's sexy new doctor as a tenant. Katrina doesn't need a man to make her happy, especially a disgruntled physician. But try telling her body that...

I was sitting next to Fiona Lowe at the RWAus dinner at last year’s conference, when she showed me the cover for Montana Actually. Now, I would have read this book if it had come with a brown paper bag as a cover, but the cover Fiona showed me drew me in just that little bit further.

You all know how much I loved Fiona’s recent series set in Wisconsin, so you can imagine how excited I was when I heard that this Medicine River series was in the works. Let me tell you, it was totally worth tapping my feet in anticipation for!

Here are my thoughts on Montana Actually:

Montana Actually is a brilliant way to kick off the Medicine River series. It has that small town charm that I love (and that Fiona does so well), realistic characters and believable dialogue, and a couple with fantastic chemistry.

I love that both Kat and Josh are iffy about commitment, and that the reluctance to become emotionally involved isn’t just one-sided. Josh isn’t staying, and Kat has had a BAAAD relationship breakup, so it makes sense that neither is looking for their Right Person. However, neither is entirely averse to having a Right-Now Person. I love these storylines – watching them both realise at some point that they want more is awesome.  I loved Kat and Josh as a couple – they worked really well for me, and I knew from the start that I cared about whether or not they made it.

Another thing I loved about Montana Actually was the background stuff. The threads around both Kat and Josh’s families, the conflicts and challenges they have faced, and even the gorgeous secondary romance between Beau and Shannon, wove together to create a beautifully complementary back story. Even better, it never threatened to overwhelm the most important thing – the relationship building between Kat and Josh.

As always, there is a great sense of humour and fun in Fiona’s writing, and it really is evident in Montana Actually. Great start to another series that I am sure to love!!

P.S. I’ve read many a book of late set in Montana, and with each one that I read, I just want to get over there and visit. Just don’t offer me any Rocky Mountain Oysters…..

My Signature

Leave a Reply